Five Things to Do at Half Term

This is more a personal reminder than for anyone else’s benefit, but this is what happens when not one of the clever twitterers can help you to fix your iphone calendar. Instead of my technological to do list, I have put it together here. You’re welcome!

1. FRIGGING GO TO FRIGGING ICELAND AND FRIGGING FREEZE

My first cold holiday in a very, very long time, my key purchases have been a ski jacket, a new camera and some miniature bottles of gin. Priorities. However the trip will also be my first holiday this academic year and marks a definite move towards the switch off that I have been working on over the last few months. Other than private projects and reading that I aim to catch up on, I will not be working for the entirety of half term. Possibly if for no other reason, than my fingers will have fallen off.

2. SPEND TIME WITH MY SON

Instead of the constant juggle that my nearly six year old experiences between my and his father’s home with school in between, I will actually have the privilege of some uninterrupted time with my small person. No food shop, no big plans, just a lot of eating pancakes and fashioning of pyjamas.

3. HAVE ANOTHER BIRTHDAY

I almost forgot about this bit in half term and to be honest it is no biggy. But it is always a huge bonus that without fail, my birthday falls in the holidays. I will be celebrating with even more pancakes, maybe with a cake/pancake sandwich of sorts.

4. I WILL READ MORE THAN TWO BOOKS

My fifty book a year brag is fast dissipating as I am currently on book number 2. Sleepiness and other things are getting in the way of sitting down with a good book and I am damned if I end this year on 12 books.

5. I WILL FINISH

several things that have never been finished up. LIke the character mapping for my book, or the scrapbook, or the planning for the other book, or the scraps of poetry that don’t have an ending, or even the ironing pile. I will finish at least the ironing pile!

Leave a Reply

